Wal-Mart Haul

In preparation to my attempt at a 20 Day Make-Up Challenge I am doing this week, I picked up a few things from Wal-Mart that I am really excited to get creative with!

IMG_3932[1]

What I got:

  • Eye Candy Sparkle Cream Eyeshadow & Glitter Eyeshadow by Hard Candy

I have heard about, and seen Hard Candy products, but have been a little hesitant to try them out. Their adorable packaging and generously-sized products (ranging from face primers to body shimmer and everything in between) have always caught my eye; last night I looked them up to find out more. Sold exclusively at Wal-Mart, Hard Candy brings spunk to the cosmetics industry with fun, rocker-chic edge. According to SheSpeaks.Com , customers have rated this brand a 3.6 out of 5 stars – not bad!Hard Candy Eye Candy

What made me finally give-in and try it for myself was the fact that they are very affordable (ranging from $3 – $20), so I wouldn’t feel like I wasted a lot of money, if I’m not completely satisfied.

Anyway, the Sparkle Cream Eye Shadow and the Glitter Eyeliner (in Flashy) actually came as a set – which I loved! I have been skeptical about different glitter eye shadows because most formulas are just powders and I had read reviews where customers were dissatisfied with such products because it is messy to apply, and is faulty in that the looseness of the powder makes it easy for the glitter to end up elsewhere on your face. I’m hoping that this cream formula will be less disappointing and the liner will be the perfect accent!

 

  • Glamoflauge Heavy Duty Concealer with Concealer Pencil by Hard Candy

Glamoflauge

Who could resist buying some concealer while on a make-up haul? Since I caved and broke whatever barrier was standing between me and Hard Candy products, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to test out some of their Glamoflauge Heavy Duty Concealer with Concealer Pencil in Tan. As another dual purchase, I hadn’t realized until I got home how large this tube of glam actually is! This already pleases me and I look forward to using it very soon. They aren’t kidding about the “heavy-duty” either, on the back of the package they explain that this formula “blends flawlessly into skin, hides everything from dark circles and blemishes to tattoos” – so for anyone looking to conceal their tats, go out and pick up some Glamoflauge for yourself.

  • Wear Infinité Studio Secrets Professional Eyeshadow by L’oréal

Studio Secrets Eye ShadowThis L’oréal shadow in Seashell was the perfect secret ingredient I had been searching for to create smooth, matte finish eye looks. I couldn’t pass this up because often it is a little difficult to come by matte white or off-white shadows; it seems that everything these days has some sort of shimmery, satin finish. This bone shade is suttle enough to use to set the concealer under your brows, or even as a highlight. L’oréal always delivers quality, professional worthy products, so I know this will be a great addition to my make-up bag.

 

  • Colour Riche le Gloss by L’oréal

Le Gloss Plum RushI love the Colour Riche lip line by L’oréal – the products are worth every dime, and help you give your look that perfectly polished finish. Particularly, the le Gloss line has been one of my favorites for a while now. The color selection is endless (all true to color), creates glazed lips, and feels very smooth. I felt a little daring today and went out of my comfort zone with this deep purple gloss in Plum Rush. I am really looking forward to creating looks with an edge, and I know this product will do exactly that, plus it smells good!

 

  • Super Lustrous Lipstick by Revlon

Normally, I like to wear nude lipsticks with light hints of pinks or oranges just because I think they don’t wash out to my look nor overwhelmingly add age and they’re totally capable of being an every day look. Revlon Super Lustrous LipstickSo I had to pick up a new nude shade, this time with stronger orange undertones rather than pinks. I got this Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Just Enough Buff. Most of my lipsticks are by NYX, but I have heard that this particular line of Revlon lipsticks are long lasting, and smooth; they even have great hues without drawing out moisture from your lips. Even so, this lipstick was very affordable and I suspect will be worth it.

 

 

 

  • Color Tattoo Metal 24 Hour Eyeshadow by MaybellineMaybelline Color Tattoo Metal 24 Hr

I’ve been wanting to try out the Color Tattoo 24 Hour Eyeshadow by Maybelline for a while now, and I thought – why not now? The one I picked out is from the “Metals” line in Electric Blue. The creamy, saturated, long-lasting color will be perfect for capturing those dark, yet bold, captivating looks. When I saw this shadow, I immediately became inspired by the night sky, so I plan to pull of something of that nature.

 

 

    • Lasting Finish By Kate Lipstick by Rimmel LondonLasting Finish By Kate Moss

After posting about red lipsticks , I was definitely in the mood to get some. This particular one from Ka

te Moss’ Line with Rimmel, Lasting Finish, was a ‘must-buy’. Though I am not much into wearing red lipsticks, I wanted to experiment a little with the burgundy and berry shades of red trend that is making a come back right now; this shade is called Rossetto. In contrast to my NYX lipsticks, this line of lip colour is supposed to last for a full 8 hours with a highly saturated color and has soft, smoothing, moisturizing effects.

  • Perfectly Glamourous Lashes by Salon Perfect

Last but not least, I changed up my falsies for something a little more dramatic this time: I got Salon Perfect’s Perfectly Glamourous Lashes in 28. Prior to switching my everyday brand to Ardell, I used Salon Perfect for about a year. This brand is great because their lashes are lightweight, easy to apply and very comfortable. They are less expensive than Ardell and are sold at Wal-Mart. The pair of 28’s I purchased are long and full bodied, so all of the desired drama I wish to play up in my eyes will not fall short. Anyone who would like to start wearing falsies should consider the Starter Kit line from Salon perfect, they range from individual lashes (for a little bit more natural look) to strip lashes for extra drama.

Perfectly Glamourous 28

I hope this post has given you some ideas about different products to go out and try for yourself, and don’t forget to keep an eye out for my 20 Day Challenge posts! Feel free to leave comments about your take on these products, or any alternatives!

2 thoughts on “Wal-Mart Haul

  1. Pingback: FBV: Inspired by Spring | Far Above Rubies

  2. Pingback: » Another Day I Feel Good - There's More to the Story

Leave a Reply

